Makoto Hayashi Lab

Makoto Hayashi

Makoto Hayashi

Makoto earned his B.S., M.S., and his Ph.D. from Osaka University under the supervision of Dr. Hisao Masukata. During this period, he studied the mechanism of DNA replication in fission yeast and unexpectedly found that fission yeast heterochromatin protein Swi6/HP1 positively regulates DNA replication firing at pericentromere region. read more

Contact the researcher

Chromosome Instabilities

The ends of chromosomes are protected from unwanted enzymatic reactions by telomeres, structures composed of simple repeat sequences and associated proteins. In normal human somatic cells, telomere shortening during DNA replication eventually causes deprotection of telomeres, which activates DNA Damage Response (DDR) and halts cell division (replicative senescence). read more

Laboratory location: Kyoto, Japan

Recent publications

  1. Diana Romero-Zamora & Makoto T. Hayashi
    A non-catalytic N-terminus domain of WRN prevents mitotic telomere deprotection
    Sci Rep. 2023 Jan 12;13(1):645. doi: 10.1038/s41598-023-27598-0
  2. Katsushi Kagaya, Naoto Noma-Takayasu, Io Yamamoto, Sanki Tashiro, Fuyuki Ishikawa, Makoto T Hayashi
    Chromosome instability induced by a single defined sister chromatid fusion
    Life Sci Alliance 2020 Oct 26;3(12):e202000911. doi: 10.26508/lsa.202000911. Print 2020 Dec.
  3. V. Pragathi Masamsetti, Ronnie Ren Jie Low, Ka Sin Mak, Aisling O’Connor, Chris D. Riffkin, Noa Lamm, Laure Crabbe, Jan Karlseder, David C.S. Huang, Makoto T. Hayashi and Anthony J. Cesare
    Replication stress induces mitotic death through parallel pathways regulated by WAPL and telomere deprotection
    Nature Communications, 2019, September 17; 10(1): 4224


Dr. Anthony Cesare (Children’s Medical Research Institute)
Dr. John Maciejowski (Sloan Kettering Institute)
Dr. Katsushi Kagaya (The University of Tokyo)
Dr. Tomohiko Taguchi (Tohoku University)
Dr. Ryota Sato (The University of Tokyo)
Dr. Yasukazu Daigaku (Tohoku University)
Dr. Yusuke Tarumoto (Kyoto University)

Group Members

Andrew N Osahor
PhD Student
Diana Romero-Zamora
Yuki Sato
Research Assistants
Andrea Ruelas-Gonzalez
Yuya Nishida
Yumi Hayashi
Makiko Nishimura
Former members
Shoma Ishikawa (Postdoc at University of Cologne, Cologne, Germany)
Naoya Koshizuka

(update: Jan 2023)